ARTIST RESEARCH Victoria Ferrand-Scott

Victoria Ferrand Scott

http://www.yorkshiresculptorsgroup.org/victoria-ferrand-scott
It was apparent when researching the fluidity of her work. When experimenting with plaster one of my samples using a food container, has similarities with ‘Concretions’. As a sculptor the work she does is organic three dimensional pieces of art. She works with plaster and latex using gravitational forces, such as pressure, gravity and elasticity. With the use of binding materials she stretches the boundaries of the materials used, stretching not only the materials but ideas. The methods used allow freedom to explore but also control to produce interest. The organic sculptures have an elasticity, creating sensuality that is smooth and warm. This illusion transforms concrete normally a masculine material, to a feminine piece of art.

She is interesting in Presence and absence, I have to say I don’t understand this even though I have tried to find out what it is, but I think it may be to do with illusion.

‘Sculptural practice is akin to alchemy. The artist brings together material and process to engage in a journey; the final piece revealing both the sum of the path and future possibility’
-Victoria Ferrand Scott.
http://rbs.org.uk/artists/victoria-ferrand-scott

I like this statement, and can totally agree with this. I found that the using plaster was definitely a journey into the unknown and is shown in the diversity of the samples made. This tactile material evolves rather than being forced.

http://rbs.org.uk/artists/victoria-ferrand-scott

ferrand
For example, in this piece Victoria has produced an organic surreal sculpture, which is alien like, and makes me want explore this more. I have an idea of using fabric formed concrete, but need to do a bit more research.

http://www.yorkshiresculptorsgroup.org/victoria-ferrand-scott?lightbox=image12ek

After researching this artist, I wondered how I could use this in my work and after looking at various food containers found new inspiration. I was surprised at the variety of shapes and sizes within a usually discarded package.

dsc_0271

Author: huggywitch

I have been doing textiles for a number of years and recently started my degree. I have always had an interest in theatre costume design and this is where my passion lie.

Leave a Reply

