Molding from a surface – Polymer pellets

Polymer pellets

dsc_0422

My first attempt to use the polymer pellets was very disappointing. I attempted to make impressions on the polymer after it was cured, but this hardly dented the surface.

The polymer was not easy to use. A bowl was filled with hot water and the pellets were added. The pellets were agitated with a fork, and started to go opaque gathering together. It was a quick process that required quick manipulation to allow it to work.

By not mixing properly, it resulted in a fragile rice like effect. However, the sample below created a bowl which when dried was solid. I attempted to add beads to the polymer, but it would not hold the beads and they kept falling out.

dsc_0425 dsc_0426

By adding a button, I was quite happy with the results and reminded me of a starfish and its tiny tube feet.

dsc_0423
Embedding a buckle was more successful than the beads as this was due to the surface area. And possibly because I was beginning to get the idea of how it worked.

dsc_0419
Adding zip ties was not very successful, although it embedded into the polymer, it still looked like zip ties and had no real features, so was disappointing.

dsc_0421

Author: huggywitch

I have been doing textiles for a number of years and recently started my degree. I have always had an interest in theatre costume design and this is where my passion lie.

Leave a Reply

