Exercise 3 – Back drawing

 

Backdrawing
I wasn’t sure how successful this would be, but found there were some interesting marks made.

                             

                           

                             
A paint brush handle was one of the more successful prints in terms of composition. The first print is garish in colour, but it does have interesting design features, with the blank bottom part. The second one is subtle and stands out reminding me of an illustration, with the placement of swirls and is a pleasing print, one that I would like to have on my wall.

         

Coloured paper seemed to enhance the print and soften the design. Changing the orientation of the print alters the perspective and balance and as a result both were successful.

                  

A corkscrew was used to make marks and unintentionally they look like fish. I cropped the picture to see what the effect was giving a stronger image. The bubbles were created from the water on the gelli plate and add a textural and realistic feel.


There is faint hint of a face in this print and initially not seeing this didn’t like it. but after looking again, I feel it may have possibilities to adopt this type of technique for future work. But I think it would be better to use oil paint as would leave a heavier mark within the paint.

Author: huggywitch

I have been doing textiles for a number of years and recently started my degree. I have always had an interest in theatre costume design and this is where my passion lie.

Leave a Reply

