reflectory comment

Having done monoprinting before using oils, found there was a mental block using ink. It wasn’t the technique but after feedback from my tutor, was advised to draw more than write in the sketchbook, avoiding duplication of work. There is more clarity now and feel that composition, design and colour choices are more coherent in application. It was difficult to alter from a presentation feel, as the printed work, took so long to dry and would have taken too much time if printed directly. This hampered initial thought processes and was unsure of how to start this part of the course. However, once started got a carried away with some very inspiring prints and feel that the work has improved in a number of ways, allowing freedom to create. I was told to trust the process and not get distracted, which has allowed me to focus and experiment more without constraint of whether or not it was right or wrong.

I feel that my personal voice has emerged and feel more confident in my abilities with quality, quantity and diversity. I am able to express my feelings into art and that is important to me. I find that on dark days, the work that I do is heavier and darker, but other days colourful and bright.

I was very happy with most of the prints, where there were unsuccessful ones, it was usually down to the background choice. a consideration for future work. Having shown the work to my partner, there were things that he liked that I didn’t and that is down to personal choice.

Having researched a number of techniques and artists, found initially I wasn’t inspired  however after looking deeper into the techniques realised how much skill had gone into some of the work and began to appreciate how varied printmaking is and how it made me feel.

Degas for example, heads of man and woman was blurred and provoked a sinister feeling whereas Paul Klees, La Carica, reminded me of a memory of childhood. However, other work showed colour variations, tonal values and composition, which was invaluable to the work created since.

Overall, I wouldn’t change the prints, apart from the backdrawing, which I felt lacked depth. This was possibly due to the paper or tool chosen. This is by far the best part of the course.

Author: huggywitch

I have been doing textiles for a number of years and recently started my degree. I have always had an interest in theatre costume design and this is where my passion lie.

Leave a Reply

